logo
pagesback-cover
169
Reddit meter
all mentions

Cloud Atlas

528 pages, 2012

fiction

fiction

1382 books
Takeaways
Description

David Mitchell is a literary visionary and a master of many different genres and styles. He combines flat-out adventure, Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. 

The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In his newest novel, Cloud Atlas, he explores fundamental questions of reality and identity with daring artistry.

Interconnectedness of Lives and Actions

In Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell explores the idea that our lives and actions are interconnected. He shows us that the choices we make can have far-reaching consequences, even affecting people in different times and places. It's a reminder to think about the impact of our actions on others.

The Cycle of Power and Oppression

Mitchell's book gives us a deep look into the cycle of power and oppression. He shows us that those in power often exploit the weak, but this cycle can be broken. It's a call to action for us to stand up against injustice and strive for a more equitable world.

The Importance of Storytelling

Cloud Atlas emphasizes the importance of storytelling. Stories are not just for entertainment, they can also preserve history, pass on wisdom, and shape our understanding of the world. So, next time you hear a story, pay attention. It might have more to offer than you think.

The Concept of Reincarnation

David Mitchell explores the concept of reincarnation in his book. He suggests that our souls may live multiple lives, learning and growing with each new experience. It's a fascinating idea that might make you see life in a new light.

The Power of Individual Actions

Finally, Cloud Atlas reminds us of the power of individual actions. Even small acts of kindness or bravery can make a big difference. So, don't underestimate the impact you can have. Every action counts.

Quotes 5

Cloud Atlas is a phenomenal achievement, a novel that is as complex as it is captivating.

A.S. ByattA.S. Byatt - Novelist, Poet

Cloud Atlas is a book that defies description and captures the imagination.

Tom HanksTom Hanks - Actor, Filmmaker

Cloud Atlas is a book that demands your attention, a work of staggering inventiveness.

Ursula K. Le GuinUrsula K. Le Guin - Author, Critic

Cloud Atlas is a novel that is both challenging and rewarding, a work of immense scope and ambition.

Michael ChabonMichael Chabon - Novelist, Screenwriter

Cloud Atlas is a book that is as thought-provoking as it is entertaining, a truly unique reading experience.

Zadie SmithZadie Smith - Novelist, Essayist
A.S. ByattTom HanksUrsula K. Le GuinMichael ChabonZadie Smith

Recommendations

6
Bill Gates

Bill Gates

entrepreneurinvestortechnologyventure capitalist
Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman

activistactorfilmmaker
Ben Affleck

Ben Affleck

actorfilmmaker
Keanu Reeves

Keanu Reeves

actorfilmmakermusician
Nat Eliason

Nat Eliason

entrepreneurmarketerauthor
Sahil Lavingia

Sahil Lavingia

entrepreneurtechnologyventure capitalist

Cloud Atlas found in libraries

1
173 books

Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Books

Open the door to the most wondrously imagined and created fictional worlds with the Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books.