logo
pagesback-cover
189
Reddit meter
all mentions

Creativity, Inc.

368 pages, 2014

design

design

194 books
business & management

business & management

1082 books
biographies & memoirs

biographies & memoirs

997 books
technology

technology

392 books
Takeaways
Description

‍From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business--a manual for anyone who strives for originality. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation. 

It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture--but it is also a book about elevating people and ideas through thoughtful criticism. This book is for readers of Daniel Pink's Drive, Tom Peters' In Search of Excellence, and Chip and Dan Heath's Switch.

Embrace Uncertainty

In Creativity, Inc., Ed Catmull emphasizes the importance of embracing uncertainty. He believes that it's a crucial part of the creative process. So, don't be afraid of not knowing everything. Instead, see it as an opportunity to explore new ideas and find innovative solutions.

Foster a Culture of Candor

Catmull stresses the importance of creating a work environment where everyone feels comfortable sharing their thoughts and ideas. He believes that a culture of candor can lead to better collaboration and more innovative ideas. So, check how you can encourage open communication in your team.

Failures are Learning Opportunities

One of the key takeaways from Creativity, Inc. is that failures are not setbacks, but learning opportunities. Catmull encourages us to see failures as a chance to grow and improve. So, next time you face a failure, don't get discouraged. Instead, look into what you can learn from it.

The Power of Teamwork

In the book, Catmull shares how Pixar's success is largely due to the power of teamwork. He believes that a group of people working together towards a common goal can achieve great things. So, take a look at how you can strengthen the teamwork in your organization.

Leadership is about Empowering Others

Catmull teaches us that effective leadership is not about controlling everything, but about empowering others. He believes that leaders should create an environment where everyone can contribute their best. So, research ways to empower your team and help them reach their full potential.

Quotes 5

Creativity, Inc. is a book that manages to combine practical advice with an understanding of the magic of creativity. It's a must-read for anyone who values originality.

George LucasGeorge Lucas - Star Wars Creator

This book is a roadmap for managing a culture that encourages and values creativity.

Mark ZuckerbergMark Zuckerberg - Facebook Founder

Creativity, Inc. is a thoughtful and inspiring book on fostering a culture of creativity.

Bill GatesBill Gates - Microsoft Co-Founder

Creativity, Inc. is a must-read for anyone interested in the business of creativity.

Tim CookTim Cook - Apple CEO

Creativity, Inc. is a fascinating read about the creative process at Pixar.

Richard BransonRichard Branson - Virgin Group Founder
George LucasMark ZuckerbergBill GatesTim CookRichard Branson

Recommendations

10
authorEzra Klein

Ezra Klein

entrepreneurjournalistpolitics
Jason Calacanis

Jason Calacanis

entrepreneurtechnologyventure capitalist
Mark Zuckerberg

Mark Zuckerberg

entrepreneurtechnologyventure capitalist
Daniel Burka

Daniel Burka

designerentrepreneurtechnology
authorJulie Zhuo

Julie Zhuo

designerentrepreneurtechnologyauthor
authorTim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss

media personalitytechnologyventure capitalistauthor

Creativity, Inc. found in libraries

1
157 books

Books For Artists

Elevate your artistic skills and become the best artist you can be with the best Books for Artists.