Frank Blake


Frank Blake is an American businessman and former chairman of The Home Depot. He began his career in 1977 at General Electric, where he rose to become Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer. In 2002, he was named Vice Chairman of The Home Depot, and in January 2007, he was appointed Chairman and CEO.

As Chairman and CEO, Frank Blake was responsible for leading the company's transformation from a traditional home improvement retailer to a global, omnichannel leader in the industry. He is credited for leading Home Depot's successful expansion into new markets, growing the company's online presence, and focusing on customer service.

Under Frank Blake's leadership, Home Depot's sales and profits grew significantly, and it became the world's largest home improvement retailer. He also oversaw the launch of The Home Depot Foundation, which has provided more than $275 million in grants and products to improve the homes and lives of veterans, at-risk youth, and communities in need.

In August 2014, Frank Blake retired from Home Depot and was succeeded by current CEO Craig Menear. Since his retirement, Frank Blake has continued to serve as a director of several companies, including Lowe's, Berkshire Hathaway, and Delta Air Lines. He also serves on the board of the University of Delaware. He has been an active philanthropist, supporting organizations such as the Boys & Girls Clubs of America, Habitat for Humanity, and the United Way.

Frank Blake is also an active speaker and mentor, having spoken at a variety of events, including the World Economic Forum, the Consumer Electronics Show, and the Aspen Ideas Festival. In addition, he has played a key role in the development of the LEED certification program, helping to establish it as the international standard for green building.

In recognition of his contributions to the home improvement industry and to society, Frank Blake has received numerous awards, including the Horatio Alger Award, the National Retail Federation's Gold Medal Award, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Small Business Person of the Year Award.